On 9th November, 2000, the hilly regions of Uttar Pradesh and some districts of plainland were put together to form Uttranchal, a new state. On 28th December, 2006, the name of Uttranchal was changed to Uttrakhand.

With Dehradun as capital, the state has scenic beauty second only to Jammu and Kashmir. It has an astounding collection of over a dozen of picturesque hill stations. Nainital , Almora, BInsar, Kaushani, Mukteshwar, Lansdowne, Pauri and Mussuri are some of them. There are 6 national parks as well, the Corbett national park being the most important. Thus it is rich in forest resources too.

The gateway to most important Hindu Pilgrimahe of Kedar and Badri is through is twin cities of Haridwar and Rishikesh.
It also borders China and Nepal.

Click Here to see the official tourism websites of various states of India.

Nainital    Devaprayag, Rudraprayag, Karnaprayag, Nandaprayag and Vishnuprayag. Chandrabadani & Chandrapuri Hemkund Sahib and Valley of Flowers Nandan kanan    Auli and Joshimath    Rishikesh    Pauri, Khirsu, Lansdowne and Kotdwar    Haridwar or Hardwar    Mussoorie    Dehradun    Panch Kedars     Kedar Nath     Badri Nath and the Sapta Badri    Gangotri    Chaukori and Patal Bhubaneshwar    Pithoragarh, Munsiyari and Milam Glacier    Purnagiri and Nanak Mata    Mayawati, Lohaghat, Champawat and Shyamlatal    Corbett National Park and Tiger Reserve Forests   Roopkund and Hemkund   Almora, Binsar and Jageshwar     Kaushani    Ranikhet    Mukteshwar